If you and your spouse are unable to reconcile your differences and have come to the resolution that ending your marriage is the next best step, you will need to hire a divorce attorney. Although this process may seem stressful at first, with the help of an experienced and skilled lawyer, it can be manageable, and if both spouses are willing, amicable.
At Blood Law, PLLC, our experienced attorneys are committed to helping you resolve the matters associated with your divorce. It is this dedication that led us to start offering concierge-level legal services to best tailor our offerings to our clients’ unique needs and interests.
To file for divorce in South Carolina, each spouse must be a resident of the state and the individual filing must have been a resident of the state for at least 3 months. Alternately, both spouses must be a resident of the state for 1 year.
If both spouses are residents, you can file for divorce in the Circuit Court or Family Court of the county where you last resided together.
Grounds for Divorce in South Carolina
South Carolina recognizes no-fault and fault-based grounds for divorce. Legally, the state considers the following 4 fault grounds for a fault-based divorce:
Adultery: You do not actually have to prove adultery occurred to file for a fault-based divorce. You can show proof of what is known as inclination and opportunity. Inclination is defined as having or showing romantic interest outside of the marriage. Opportunity is established when you can prove your spouse had the chance to act on an inclination.
In South Carolina, proving that one spouse committed adultery will result in that spouse being barred from receiving spousal support.
Habitual drunkenness or narcotics abuse: To prove this ground, you must show that your spouse’s behavior was habitual and caused the breakdown of the marriage.
Physical cruelty: You must be able to show that your spouse’s conduct caused substantial risk of death or bodily harm. Under South Carolina law, physical cruelty must be actual personal violence, or such a course of physical treatment as endangers life, limb, or health, and renders cohabitation unsafe.
Abandonment: This is a rare circumstance, although possible. Today, most divorces are granted on the ground of 1 year’s continuous separation.
To obtain a no-fault divorce, a couple must prove 1 year on continuous separation in the state. This means the couple must live apart for 1 year before filing for divorce.
“Anna guided me through the entire process and answered all of my questions and concerns quickly.”- Debra K.
“Anna is very knowledgeable of the law as well as the local courts and judges.”- Penny N.
“I’m extremely grateful for Anna's help in my time of need.”- Olivia L.
If you are considering divorce and would like to discuss your options with an experienced lawyer, we are happy to help you get started. We offer personalized legal services with a compassionate touch to best serve you and your family as you navigate your divorce. We understand divorce can be difficult to endure, but you do not have to figure it out alone.
With offices in Charlotte and Waxhaw as well as in Greenville and Fort Mill, we make it easier for families across the Carolinas to find quality counsel.
Children Come First
With the complexities of family law, we put the well-being and safety of your children at the forefront of your case.
When you work with Blood Law, PLLC, you work with our entire team. Everyone is here to support you through each step.
We create personalized plans for each client while setting realistic expectations on the possible outcomes of the case.
From our first phone call to final signing, our team goes above and beyond to make sure you're getting the attention you deserve.